Meet the Conductor

Carol Jacobson

Carol Jacobson has been the Music Director and Conductor of the Eureka Symphony for more than a decade.  Teacher and conductor of the Arcata/McKinleyville High School Orchestra and Madrigal Choir for 20 years, she has inspired numerous young people to excel.  She says, “Once you have experienced the magic of exceeding your expectations, your life is never the same again.” The North Coast Journal has referred to Ms. Jacobson as a “force of nature.”

An accomplished cellist, Ms. Jacobson earned her bachelor’s degree at Humboldt State University, with further studies at the Salzburg Mozarteum, The Royal Danish Conservatory and the Netherlands Royal Conservatory in The Hague. She was a member of the Netherlands National Ballet Orchestra in Amsterdam, the Netherlands Radio Symphony, the Oslo Opera Orchestra and the Netherlands Strijkers Ensemble.  Last summer she performed with Paula Thomas at the "Petit festival de Loye” in France.

She has worked with many conductors, including, Valerie Gergiev, Kent Nagano, Jaap van Zweden, Sixten Ehrling and Edo deWaart. She is currently studying conducting with Scott Seaton. She was conductor of the Humboldt State University Orchestra and directed the Humboldt Music Academy. She plays in the Resonance Ensemble with Terrie Baune and John Chernoff and is principal cellist in the North State Symphony.

Meet the Symphony

The Eureka Symphony is composed of community members — including teachers, doctors, professors, retirees, students, and more — from across the Humboldt Bay area. Each year we perform a wide range of classical compositions with appeal to all ages. We have been proud to premiere several works in the last few years and are delighted to welcome acclaimed guest soloists to join our concerts. We present at least one choral work and sometimes a theatrically narrated selection during our season.


Carol Jacobson, Music Director & Conductor

Sponsored by Pamela Ford Cavanagh & James W. West

Violin I

Terrie Baune, Concertmaster,

Sponsored by the Perrett Family Fund

Karen Davy, Associate Concertmaster

Mary De Andreis

Russel Graham

Mary Jerland

Terry Kramer

Karen Larkin

Gwen Post

Cynthia Quinsey

Mardi Siekmann


Lori Anderson, Principal

Sponsored by Cliff Moon

Julie Fulkerson

Laura Goff

Vanessa Kibbe

Kathy Lee

Ken Love

John Nelson

Marilyn Page

Kristin Renfer

Vee Sorenson

Thomas Starkey-Owens


Holly MacDonell, Principal

Sponsored by Margaret Ann Augustine

Susan Fowle

Janet Futrell

Sherry Hanson

Rachel Huang

Don Morris

Kit Morris

Penny Sohrakoff


Garrick Woods, Principal

Sponsored by the Aldinger

family in memory of cellist David Aldinger

Sue Kent-Stuard

Mie Matsumoto

Emily Morris

Gabrielle Woods


Bear Winkle, Principal

Sponsored by Karole Ely & Alex Stillman

William Andrews

Patti McHaney


Jill Petricca, Principal

Sponsored by Carol & Les Scher

Kylie Furman


Gwen Gastineau-Ayoob, Principal

Sponsored by William Greenwood

Heather Dial


Ellen Weiss, Principal

Sponsored by John & Nancy Van Speybroeck

Susan Sisk


Ronite Gluck, Principal

Sponsored by Pamela Ford Cavanagh

Don Bicknell

Anwyn Halliday

Matthew Morgan

Michael Robertson


Aaron Lopez, Principal

Sponsored by Peter & Mary Anne Bansen

Danny Gaon


Chris Cox, Principal

Sponsored by James W. West

John Petricca


Michael Kibbe


George Epperson, Principal

Sponsored by Stephen Sottong

Dick LaForge

Phil Sams


Fred Tempas, Principal

Sponsored by Barbara Madaras


Makani Bright


Neil Bost, Principal

Sponsored by Milton J. Boyd


Candace Livolsi

Jessica Schaeffer


John Chernoff


Michael Kibbe


Vanessa Kibbe


Meet the Chorus

The Eureka Symphony Chorus was established in September 2015 and made its debut performance with Antonio Vivaldi's Gloria at the holiday concert on December 4 and 5, 2015.

Chorus membership requires a commitment of approximately six to twelve weeks for participants for preparation and performances for each concert. Rehearsals will be held Monday evenings at Christ Episcopal Church in Eureka from 7:00 to 9:00 p.m. and subsequently with the orchestra at the Eureka High School and the Arkley Center for the Performing Arts.


Andrea Armin
Laura Arrington
Carolyn Ayres
Susan Bicknell
Jessica Bittner
Karen Currier
Natasha Czajka
Delores Freitas
Katri Pitts
Jenna Rydz
Polly Savoie


Jeanne Albertson
Claire Bent
Cathy Enis
Peggy Grossman
Debby Harrision
Lisa Jouaneh
Leslie Kieg
Karolyn Merz
Carrie O'Neil
Diane Renner-Noyes
Kathy Schmidt
Nancy Streufert
Teresa Walker
Dianne Zuleger


Paul Gossard
Rich Macey
Silvia Mazzone-Clemanti
David Powell
Miles Raymer
Laura Rose
Dan Scofield
David Simms
Bert Taylor


Lou Agliolo
Antoine Bouchet
David Callow
Jon Clower
Steve Cole
William Frazee
Thomas Hardy
Peter McArdle
Larry Pitts
Tomas Shermer

News & Updates

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Contact Us


(707) 798-6139

(707) 845-3655


P.O. Box 776
Bayside, CA 95524